Getting Lucky

October 22, 2008 at 8:47 pm 3 comments

wow i actually won something

actually when i was younger i did win a headset radio at a hospital fundraiser.  i never won an event at field day in middle school (and wouldn’t now…i’m not what they call athletic).  and i never won nsync tickets on the radio.  my mom won a supply of campbells soup when she sang the theme song for a radio contest.  what about you?

Entry filed under: Random Mumblings. Tags: .

Favorite Holiday White Flag

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lemmonex  |  October 22, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Congrats again.

    I don’t think I have ever won ANYTHING. My mom tells me I am a winner every day, though.

    yeah my mom does that too then she kisses me on the forehead…which i guess is to make me feel better since i know she’s lying

    Reply
  • 2. Zosimus the Heathen  |  October 26, 2008 at 6:59 am

    While my initial reaction to your post was to think that I hadn’t won much myself, after a little bit of thought, I realized I’d won quite a few interesting little things over the years. Some of the ones that spring to mind are:
    * a toy truck when I was very young (I won it in a newspaper colouring-in contest)
    *a copy of the Woody Allen movie “Hollywood Ending” (for writing the “letter of the month” to an Australian film magazine once)
    *a big Red Cross gift hamper at a quiz night being held by my university department many years ago (after correctly identifying all but two countries on a map of Africa – I got Rwanda and Burundi mixed up)
    *a free pizza that I got for being the third caller to some late-night radio show (I think I was the second caller too, so I simply hung up and rang back. That should give you an idea of how big an audience the show in question must have had)
    *tickets to “Spice World”, the Spice Girls’ first (and, to the best of my knowledge, only) movie, again after ringing a radio station
    *an Ayrton Senna T-shirt (see above)
    *the refund of my “union fees” one year (basically, these were a payment of $250 or so which students at the university I went to had to make when enrolling each year; I won these back in a raffle)
    *and finally, a baseball cap advertising some alcoholic beverage called Jagermeister (I don’t even know offhand what it is because I don’t think I’ve ever drunk it). I won that one after going on a university skiing trip once. Prizes were awarded to those who’d distinguished themselves on the trip in one way or another; I got mine for wearing what had apparently been a very convincing drag outfit to a fancy dress night held on the trip.

    Wow, I really have been quite lucky now that I think about it!

    geez…that’s a lot of stuff…do you enter a lot of contests? what’s your winning percentage?

    Reply
  • 3. Zosimus the Heathen  |  October 26, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Actually no, at least not nowadays. With some of the radio prizes, it was just a case of ringing up as soon as I heard there was something to be won, so it was more of a spur-of-the-moment thing. Overall, I don’t think my winning percentage would still be too great. When I was younger, I probably entered a lot more contests (the “proper” ones where you had to fill in a form and mail it off to some big, faceless corporation), but nothing much came of that. I didn’t have too much luck in sporting contests either.

    i tried to win a radio contest once…i had no chance. by the time i figure out what number to dial, the contest was over

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


