Are You Afraid Of The Dark?

October 8, 2008 at 8:22 pm 2 comments

at the hospital i work at, the building is undergoing construction.  and the other day, that meant, we lost power for a split second.  instantly, i covered my ears and was about to slide under my desk for protection, because i wasn’t sure what was happening.  i thought i wasn’t scared of the dark anymore, but i guess i never out grew that one.

in my defense, when the hospital loses power, it doesn’t just go black…all sorts of weird noises echo through the halls, while generators click on.  also, i sleep without a nightlight, although there’s nothing wrong with that. anyway i guess i wasn’t as brave as i gave myself credit for.

i will still admit to being afraid of heights.  that is something i still tremble with.  one time i was up in a space needle, when my sister (knowing my fear) decided it would be funny to jump on the glass floor.  of course i started freaking out and screaming.

lesson of the day: know your weaknesses and don’t let them get exploited

Entry filed under: Random Mumblings. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Are You Married? My Humps

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zosimus the Heathen  |  October 26, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Fear of the dark’s a funny thing. I often think I’ve outgrown my own, only to find it returning every now and then (it probably doesn’t help that I’ve still got a very active imagination, and often take perverse pleasure in scaring myself stupid by trying to conjure up the most terrifying horror scenarios I can think of). On a related matter, I remember a time a few years back when I had the opportunity to watch a particular episode of an old Doctor Who story that had given me a sleepless night the last time I’d seen it, over twenty years earlier. Anyway, I did indeed sit down to watch it, and even though the rational side of me kept telling myself that the monster in that particular story was just a guy in a rather unconvincing rubber costume, I turned on far more lights than I really needed to when making my way from the living room to my bedroom afterwards! Not bad for someone who was um… 31 at the time!

    As for other fears, I had an understandable dread of deep water for a very long time after nearly drowning as a kid. That, in turn, gave me an equally understandable fear of the ocean. After finally learning to swim, I overcame my fear of deep water, but unfortunately kept my fear of the ocean after my subconscious decided to replace my phobia of depths with one of sharks instead!

    I also used to have a fear of creepy-crawlies that I’ve largely overcome: thanks, in large part, to studying invertebrate zoology while at university, and discovering just what marvels of nature insects and things like that are. I still can’t come at a lot of types of spider, though, nor cockroaches; if I see one of the latter things, I still have to squish it.

    i’m with you on the deep water thing, if i can’t see my feet, i’m so out of there. as for insects, they gross me out. i went to the zoo recently and skipped every exhibit about spiders and other gross bugs with more legs than i could count.

    Reply
  • 2. Zosimus the Heathen  |  October 26, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    That’s the thing that freaks me out so much about the ocean; the fact that, in much of it, the depth of the water is measured in kilometres (or miles) rather than metres (or feet). I don’t know; it just seems wrong for so much water to be present in any one place. I did actually overcome my fear of it sufficiently to go diving over the Great Barrier Reef last year, though. That was worth it, what with all the beautiful fish and coral I saw, although I still freaked out a bit on this dive I did where the water was a little deeper than that in all the other places we’d dived. It was “only” about nine or ten metres deep (which is nothing by the ocean’s standards, of course), but still quite dark and murky – it was much harder to see the bottom than it had been in any of the other spots I’d been that day.

    murky really? i always picture the ocean around the reef to be clear?…but you’re right it would be worth it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


