Germaphobes

September 12, 2008 at 5:04 pm 3 comments

everyone knows a germaphobe but most can’t understand how they got to be that way.  some wonder if they were always like that or it was acquired through some type of life altering event.  well i’m here to say, it is slowly happening to me. 

today was my first day working at the hospital.  with people coming in left and right with every type of illness you take what you think are appropriate precautions.  however, today i washed my hands several times, and at time when there wasn’t a sink near me i applied purell…and yes every time was necessary.  once i got home i wanted to remove my work clothes with tongs and immediately wash.  my mind was and still is running thinking about what is on them as i remember what type of patients i saw today.  i once thought my friend was a freak for her frequent use of hand sanitzer, but now i’m seeing the light and going to the “dark” side.”

Entry filed under: Job. Tags: , , , , , , .

eHarmony Oh Jeff…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. drcorner  |  September 14, 2008 at 9:36 am

    When I was working in Customer Service, you touch people’s PCs, etc. I usually had to wash my hands 3-4 more times a day because you’d be surprised how many unclean people are in the Office…I’ve seen people not wash their hands after using the bathroom (which is totally sick). Your environment tend to influence your actions.

    i think i’m gonna start disinfecting my computer with wipes before i use it

    Reply
  • 2. another germaphobe  |  September 15, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    i already disinfected my computer. i didn’t dare touch anything else either.

    you gotta look out for yourself, its a sick world out there

    Reply
  • 3. KassyK  |  September 22, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    I have OCD and am a germaphobe. Hand sanitizer has been one of the best creations ever in my world and actually makes me somewhat sane. Its awesome.

    That being said:

    Once you have entered a bathroom and seen someone come out of the stall after blatantly crapping (yea it stunk) and NOT wash their hands and touch the knob and go back to dinner…you are changed forever.

    ewwwwwwwwwww…how can someone do that and not get disgusted with themselves? it reminds me of that seinfeld episode (http://www.seinfeldscripts.com/ThePie.html) where jerry’s out to eat and chef doesn’t wash his hands and then goes to prepare jerry’s meal. i won’t even eat the free samples at the grocery store that are unsupervised….too much risk for what it’s worth.

    People are gross.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


