Cape Trip

June 3, 2008 at 8:11 pm Leave a comment

Another day off means just another adventure in the life of Ava Vaughn.  Today I picked up my cousin and headed for the cape, where we met up with my college roommate.  First we stopped for lunch and had some great seafood.  I, myself, had my first stuffed quahog of the season along with a grilled shrimp salad.  Then we walked around the town into little shops and once again imagined all the things we would buy if we had someone to buy them for.  After a little window shopping we headed to the beach for the rest of the day.  But this is where I get confused. 

It was a cute quaint beach, and like most of the beaches in the north they’re just nothing that impressive.  For the day it was perfect, but I don’t understand why so many people flock to the cape every weekend in the summer to enjoy it.  For me, if I want to go to the beach I just drive 30 minutes to a beach in Westport instead of driving an hour to get to the beaches on the cape.  Not to mention that once you do get on the cape, everything is so crowded in the summer because everyone and their entire families are there.  Maybe they don’t realize there are other comparable beaches closer?  I’m not sure, but if you want something worth going away for head south, the beaches are much nicer and the water is much warmer.

The best part of the day came when we decided to form a book club.  The first book we’re reading is “Love the One You’re With” by Emily Giffin.  Our plan is to read one book per month and then meet to discuss it.  I can’t wait to go pick it up.  The book is kind of a series but you can certainly pick it up without getting lost.  So if you want to join in send me an email at avavmail@gmail.com

Entry filed under: Food, Friends. Tags: , , , , , , , .

After Hours Wal-not

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


