Planning a Wedding Stage 1

May 28, 2008 at 11:15 pm 3 comments

After going to my cousin’s weddings this past weekend I’ve learned a few things.  First, wedding dresses are heavy.  Keep in mind you’re wearing that dress all day from the time you are getting ready to the end of the reception.  You have to drag it down the aisle twice, and then dance in it all night.  Why not just get a lighter dress?  That’s what I plan on doing.  Something circa Jennifer Aniston’s wedding to Brad Pitt:

Second, keep the guest list to a minimum.  When my parents got married my mother was given “the book.”  The book was a list of people to invite from my father’s mother that was at least 500 names long.  Most people my mother had never met and half of them my father didn’t either.  Keep the list limited to close friends and family.

And lastly, the dj is the key to a good reception.  At my cousin’s wedding he got everyone involved and played music that transitioned from oldies to current hits as the night progressed leaving only the youngest guests still on the floor.  I’ve been to way too many events when the dj just kills the mood, spend lots of time researching your dj so you can get it right.

I’m sure there’s other important topics to discuss when planning a wedding but these three should be a good start for anyone.

Entry filed under: Family, Fashion, Friends, Random Mumblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Santa Fe Yard Sale After Hours

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. meg  |  May 30, 2008 at 10:11 am

    saw some pics on facebook, and i LOVE your dress!

    Reply
  • 2. Jack Goes Forth  |  June 2, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Ava, after reading this post, I predict you will marry within the next three years, possibly to the next guy you go on more than 2 dates with.

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:06 am

    oh dear god I hope that’s not true. i will admit i do have a panic age but it is not 24.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


