Turning 22

May 3, 2008 at 2:05 pm 3 comments

When I was at work last night my coworker asked me, “Do you have a good fake id?”  To which I sadly replied, “No I have a real one.”

Last year when I turned 21 I was so depressed.  I refused to celebrate my birthday, didn’t take phone calls, and even went so far as to take the date off my facebook page.  To me, 21 was nothing new.  I had already had drinks and gotten drunk, so really nothing was changing; instead, it was more of a milestone that I wasn’t a kid anymore.  I was getting old! 

I can gladly say, I that crisis has passed and with my birthday coming up I want to plan something big to make up for last year.  But the problem is where to have it.  Everyone knows the best ideas are never planned and are spontaneous, but we do need a location to at least start at.  I’m thinking the beach but I do have issues with that.  The biggest being, I’m not a fan of sand sticking to you after you’ve been in the ocean.  But if it’s at the right time (later on), this might work.  Ugh, I think I remember why I hate birthday parties.

Entry filed under: Friends, Random Mumblings. Tags: , , , , , .

iTunes Civ Scream

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zosimus the Heathen  |  May 5, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I remember when I turned 21 myself fairly well, even though it’s going on um… 14 years ago now! It was sort of a big deal for me, and sort of not at the same time, if that makes any sense – one reason it wasn’t was that over here in Oz, you can legally drink (and do most other shit) once you turn 18 (a lot of our pubs stay open after 2 in the morning too). I’ve a younger brother who had the same attitude towards turning 21 that you seemed to. I don’t think it was so much turning that age that bothered him, but all the crap that came with it, specifically having a big birthday bash; he really did not want any sort of fuss made over him. Our parents took his wishes seriously (and I think he trusted them to do as much), but he was worried all his friends wouldn’t, so, rather than risk having them spring some loathsome surprise party on him, he buggered off to the UK for a holiday for a few weeks!

    As for turning 22, yeah, I remember that as well. Ironically, a few months after that particular birthday of mine, a New York hardcore/metal group called Life of Agony (who I’m a fan of, and was back then too) released an album which had a song on it called “Lost at 22”. The refrain went something like, “I’m lost at 22, and I’ve got no fucking clue.” Don’t know if that’s a sentiment that resonates with you!

    Reply
  • 2. dchero  |  May 5, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Who doesn’t like a good BONFIRE PARTY. You might have to get a permit and I don’t know where they’d let you do it, but if you had one and everybody brought items from their past (pictures of exes, presents from exes) that they never wanted to see again and burned them it would be great.

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  May 7, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    dc hero,

    would glass explode in a bonfire?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


