Formal Attire 101

April 28, 2008 at 12:23 pm 1 comment

Being my own fashion icon and all, I think it’s only appropriate to give advice to any other young women out there.  For senior week I have a formal coming up, and of course I bought my dress months ago to hopefully ensure no one else will have it.  But I did make a mistake and purchase it at Cache.  I would have loved to have bought it at a boutique or some other store in South Carolina (which is where I was when I bought it), but it didn’t work out like that.  So if anyone else is wearing this dress:

please go return it and look for another.  My worst nightmare is to wear the same thing at someone else.  (Side note: this happened to me once this year, when I walked into class, luckily I could conceal the mishap by wearing a sweatshirt.)

Now that that’s squared away let me pass this advice onto you:  short dresses are the new formal dresses.  Wearing a long dress reminds me of prom (an event I’d rather forget) and it makes me look even short than I am (5’1″).  Short dresses offer versatility for dancing, plus you get to show of the legs you work so hard in the gym.  And for strapless dresses I recommend buying one size smaller than normal to ensure everything stays in place.  The other problems associated with buying a size smaller can be fixed with spanx.

Entry filed under: Dance, Fashion, School. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

PC Fashion Icons Spring 2008 Dance Club Show

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angelo De La Vega  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:47 am

    I like it. This is the kind of dress that makes me wish chokers or boas were in style… the right girl could pull either one off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


