PC Fashion Icons

April 22, 2008 at 10:32 pm 4 comments

As my time at college is winding down, I think it’s appropriate that I think the people that got me to where I am today.  For me, fashion is one of the biggest components of who I am, so it’s only right that I thank those fashion icons across campus (so why not make a list?  I love lists).

1. Amish looking girl

She wears long skirts and sweaters that are possibly home-made.  I use to look at her confused and wonder where she came from (how far can you really travel with a horse and buggy?), but now I really want to thank her.  She has poise and confidence to dress unlike anyone else on this campus.  I really admire people that do what they want to do (calling audibles), and she does just that (this is when I wish I had pictures for you).

2. Boy who wears short shorts in the gym

I see you when I’m there working out and I’m just a tad perplexed.  You are extremely pale, but that doesn’t stop you from showing some skin.  You wear shorts that are yes short for men, but are also shorter than what most girls wear.  But again, I admire you, because you do what you want when you want.  Plus those shorts just look amazing with the lifting gloves you wear (I guess you didn’t read VKs post?)

3. “Fashionistas”

This ode is to all of those girls out there who are gutsy enough to take a step out on a limb and try something different.  Today it was the girl who wore sparkly silver pumps to class (yes it was too late for a walk of shame).  Or its those girls that started the leggin movement. 

4. Me

Lastly, I want to acknowledge myself.  Yes I push the fashion envelope myself.  I wear my sunglasses at night (because the sun never sets on a bad ass), and I go all out for my dance costume that calls for “80s workout wear” (I’ll wearing leggins with orange shorts over it, with a razorback top with a large tshirt that has an exaggerated neck; not to mention the colorful scuncii and purple sweatbands.  Shameless plug: go to my dance show this Sunday and Monday night 7pm).

In the end, do what you want, and think nothing else.  Don’t waste any of your time contemplating what others will think of you.  We don’t need more cookie cutters in this world, we want INDIVIDUALS.

Entry filed under: Dance, Fashion, Providence, School. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Marriage…It’s All About The Timing Formal Attire 101

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zosimus the Heathen  |  April 23, 2008 at 6:45 am

    An interesting post. I’ve long striven to be an individual with my own dress: sometimes subtly so (such as wearing a heavy metal T-shirt to a punk show, or vice versa), sometimes outrageously. Having been blessed with rather pretty, androgynous looks, I like to wear stuff that accentuates rather than downplays them, and get a particular buzz from being told I can pull off a look most other guys wouldn’t be able to (which happens quite a bit). (I also like to get a lot of my clothes specially made, given many of my tastes are light years from the mainstream. I just like to live in my own little universe for the most part.)

    I found your comment on the Amish-looking girl especially interesting given a fascination I’ve long had with those particular individuals (we don’t really have an equivalent to them over here in Australia). Just the way a bunch of people can be so determined to live in the past – it’s all a bit mind-boggling. Do you know if the Amish-looking girl to which you referred was a real Mennonite, or just someone who looked like one? Do the Amish even go to college?

    Reply
  • 2. Jayo  |  April 30, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Yaknow, I’ve seen that amish looking girl around too. I often wonder what the deal is with her. Once I looked over her shoulder in passing while she was typing a letter on the computer(I know, privacy right? sue me), and it began “Dear Father”, which I found a little…old fashioned.

    She’s always smiling though. Maybe one day I’ll ask her where she’s from and what the deal is with the clothes. Until then, I can only imagine.

    As for the rest of your post, I’m the guy that walks will always wear a black t-shirt, even when it was getting too cold to wear t-shirts. I’m also the guy that wears shorts the day after the sunny day which turned out to be a pretty crappy day, which sucks.

    Great psot by the way.

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Zosimus,
    I’m pretty sure she’s not really amish.

    Jayo,
    I found it extremely hilarious that you knew exactly who I was talking about. I guess that happens on such a small campus. I admire your honesty about your ease dropping skills, most people don’t admit to things like that. I like to walk around with my iPod on off. It makes people think you’re not listening…but you know better. Oh and if you do stop her, let me know what her inspiration is.

    Reply
  • 4. Jayo  |  May 3, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Hah. When I walk around with music in my ears, someone I know will always come up to me and start talking to me and I miss the whole start of the conversation. So lately I’ve had the habit of having earphones in my ears but with nothing playing…I guess it has the same effect as unintentional eavesdropping. But it’s not like we’re alone in that anyway, there’s a whole facebook page dedicated to things people have overheard from other people at PC: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=8114166811

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


