What Do You Know About Omaha?

April 16, 2008 at 8:06 pm 6 comments

Omaha here I come.  I got into grad. school, so I’ll be moving out to Nebraska sometime at the end of the summer.  I’m so excited, but I’ll be honest and say all I really know about the area is what I read on Wikipedia.  So if you know anything please leave a comment, especially if you know good bars or restaurants.

So the best part is I’ll be living with my cousin.  A few weeks ago we walked through stores like Pottery Barn together while we compiled a mental image of our “dream” apartment.  But of course, like most people our age, we can’t afford Pottery Barn, so we’ll have to do our best imitation.  I know how to find good deals, and ikea is great for basics, but are they any other stores or online chic places to shop?

So like I’ve said I’m very excited, but there’s still that small part of me that is scared.  The part of me that is always very vulnerable to change.  The good part is if I would have done this a year ago scared would have been terrified and the move never would have happened.  Lately I’ve seen myself open to new opportunities, and this is just another chance to accept that change.  So if you have any advice on moving to a new city it would be much appreciated.

Entry filed under: Omaha, Seinfeld Experiment. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Mental Models: How To Be Treated Like a Princess I’m Not 35

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dchero  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:47 am

    the seinfeld experiment continues!!!! yes!!! oh, and congratulations by the way.

    Reply
  • 2. Zosimus the Heathen  |  April 18, 2008 at 10:37 am

    That is a beautiful photo. Where did it come from?

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  April 18, 2008 at 10:47 am

    yes, hero it continues at new place and time. check your local tv schedule for full details.

    as for the photo, i tend to get my photos from google…just search omaha, nebraska

    Reply
  • 4. x-broceanographer  |  April 18, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    In class and stumbled on your blog from the whole DC crew’s and had to laugh at the title of this post. My Mom lived in New Haven/Dad in Iowa City – did undergrad on West Coast – now I’m back in Iowa for med school. That being said I feel like I have a decent grasp on what each area has to offer. I can assure you Omaha will be much different than what you’re accustomed to living out East. Depending on what type of person you are that can either be a good thing or a bad thing… For example – I hope you don’t like fake spray tans on guys or completely lacking anything even remotely resembling a public transportation system… One last thing – just so you fit in with the other kids at school I’ve included some study material.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maize

    Reply
  • 5. Stacia  |  April 21, 2008 at 8:39 am

    hahaha i love the link left by x-brooceanographer on maize–hilarious. YAY OMAHA here we comeeeeeeeee! Ava, I think we will need to further research Omaha this summer while we also plan our apartment! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Trisha  |  December 2, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Hey there Are you here now? I am from the west coast and not too familiar with many people but a select few. Send me an email and we can chat.

    the west coast is a lot different than omaha, that you can probably determine from your own careful observations. i’ve lived here the past 4 months, so i’ll give you the run down on what i know. if you’re looking for some good eats hit up m’s pub, upstream brewery, roja mexican grill, and blue sushi sake grill. up for some shopping? try village pointe, shadow lake, and oakview mall. other random sites to see include the omaha zoo, the walking bridge over the missouri river, and vala’s pumpkin patch (during the fall only). if you’re looking for bars downtown those aren’t hard to find try myth, urban wine company, and nomad. let me know what you think

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


