Cooking For One

April 8, 2008 at 6:47 pm 4 comments

At lunch today I was having a conversation with my friends about living on our own next year.  One of their worries is cooking for themselves.  Up until now, they have been going to the caf for all their meals, so the thought of cooking meals scares them.  Knowing that I cook for myself all the time, they asked me to come up with a cookbook based on “Cooking For One.”  I think it’s a great idea and something most people my age can benefit from.  I’m also including topics like what what items to keep in stock and how long most fresh foods last.  It’s funny to me that this is one of their bigger concerns, because to me it’s so easy.

Entry filed under: Food, Friends. Tags: , .

Ms. Independent No Posers 2008

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lilmissorange  |  April 8, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    This seems like a great idea. I’m generally cooking for two, but anytime my other half isn’t hungry, i end up just eating soup and sandwiches as i have no idea about the quantities needed for one person.

    Reply
  • 2. dchero  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I don’t think it can really be done. I try to cook for one, but it’s hard to make things for one. I always end up with leftovers, which isn’t a bad thing necessarily.

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  April 9, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    oh but it can, when i’m done i’ll send you a copy

    Reply
  • 4. Lucy  |  July 18, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    A cook book for one is a good idea but I haven’t seen a useable one yet. There are too many ingredients, hard to find ingredients and measurements like 1/3 a can. The rest of the can goes to waste. I know I’m pickier that most but I don’t like Asian food or fish and that seems to be poplar right now. I need simple, fast and just a few ingredients. When I get home I want to eat quickly and not have tons to clean up. Cooking for one spans all ages.I encourage you to try but do a LOT of reasearch first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


