Ms. Independent

April 4, 2008 at 7:37 pm Leave a comment

What happened to miss independent’s
No longer need to be defensive?
Goodbye, old you, when love, is true

After some self-reflection I’m come to realization that most of my breakups are a result of me being “too independent.”  I really appreciate it when my guy of the moment is helping me, but I often find myself saying “no it’s ok I can handle it.”  Then he usually backs off and keeps distant.  To me it makes them seem needy; the last thing I need is a clinger.  I mean seriously I think I can manage to walk myself back from class; I’ve been doing it my entire life.  But although I’m not a big fan, I’m wondering if I should turn the tables…

I think I might need to be a little more needy.  And make guys feel like the little things they do are “cute” and “thoughtful.”  If this crashes and burns in my face I guess the only thing left to do is blame my mom.  She brought me up to be, as she would say, “a strong woman.”  She never wanted me to be dependent on any man financially, emotionally, or physically (…never could open that pickle jar).  If you have any suggestions, I’ll need them since this isn’t my normal type of behavior.

Entry filed under: Dating. Tags: , , , .

The Guy Every Girl Needs Cooking For One

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


