Set Ups

March 30, 2008 at 9:18 pm 2 comments

 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, the best guys any women can meet is through her friends.  This is how I’ve met a few guys, but with me it’s a little tricky.  I hate being set up; I did it once, it crashed and burned unlike any other relationship I’ve had (although that was high school when relationships consisted of no real commitment).  However, I still like meeting guys through my friends….so I know what you’re wondering…”how do you do it?”  I walk into the situation blindly.

I know, I hear you….”how is that possible?”…well I’ll tell you.  If a guy likes me my friends don’t tell me.  Instead they invite him out with us and let things happen on their own.  Because if they did tell me I would immediately not be interested.  Yes it’s strange, I know, but it’s how my brain works (I guess the female mind is pretty complicated).  I guess it’s because I get a little creeped out and wonder why.  But I’m not sure, I can’t even explain it to myself. 

In the most recent case of this my roommate didn’t tell me until several days later.  I was like, oh that’s weird how that worked out (actually believing in fairy tale type situations), when she explained the real deal.  At first I was mad she didn’t tell me, but then I realized it wouldn’t have worked if I did know before hand.  Why do I make things so difficult for myself?

P.S. Anyone else a fan of the show Blind Date?

Entry filed under: Dating, Friends. Tags: , , .

You Look Familiar… The Guy Every Girl Needs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angelo De La Vega  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    I’m afflicted with a similar flaw. I can’t recall a single instance of my friends successfully orchestrating a premeditated hook-up while I was aware of their intentions. The situation was even occasionally catastrophic when I also knew that the girl in question possessed similar knowledge of the “secret” objective. I’ve managed to creatively self sabotage each of these encounters with a timid demeanor or, on the opposite end of the spectrum, over the top drunken antics.
    I suppose it’s just better to let things happen naturally.

    Reply
  • 2. Ava V  |  April 17, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I never thought about tactics to get them back, I like where you’re going with this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


