Were We All This Naive?

March 6, 2008 at 2:01 pm 3 comments

I had the funniest conversation the other day with someone that I think we all were at age eighteen.  So we’re chatting….when she tells me that her bf invited her to go with him to europe this summer.  I thought it was a bit crazy and frankly a big step.  She comes back at me telling me that they’re “kind of a big deal” and that they’re “in love.”  I couldn’t help but laugh because last time I spoke to her she didn’t even want to be with him.  Then she tells me that they’ve been exclusive since the end of january.  I couldn’t help but laugh again.  So she got defensive and said, “we figured out though that we’ve known about each other for almost a whole year like we started talking online march 27th of last year.”  Being egged on by my roommate I might have said something to effect that she must be getting her ring soon, because talking online is so serious.

Were we all this naive when we were eighteen?  I mean since when is a one month relationship serious?  I usually am still questioning everything: does he like me?  are we exclusive?  etc.  Maybe laughter wasn’t the most mature step for me to take, but it kind of slipped out.  Even so, why do we always think we know everything?  It’s impossible to have a sure thing….or am I just cynical?

Entry filed under: Dating.

Uninspired Mad Dance Skills

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dchero  |  March 7, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    You obviously didn’t see “Dan in Real Life”….

    Reply
  • 2. Ava V  |  March 7, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    No I didn’t, how many times do we have to go over this?

    Reply
  • 3. rina  |  March 8, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    No, at 18 you really feel those things. As we get older we just don’t feel them as much. True story.

    I remember how in love I was with my ex when I was 18. Now I look at him and wonder WHY?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


