But Mom…

March 2, 2008 at 7:08 pm Leave a comment

 

All women become like their mothers.  That is their tragedy.  No man does.  That’s his.  ~Oscar Wilde

You know how parents say the tables will turn and someday you will take care of them…I never thought it would happen this early.  I felt like such a mom this past weekend.  I was cooking dinner, doing laundry, running errands, and picking up after my “child.”  While I was doing all of this I had to listen to my “child” whine about how bored he was and that he wanted chocolate chip cookies.  Like most moms, I said he had plenty of snacks, and the last thing he needed was a sugar high (must be a mom-reflex).  And despite all my effort, it went without a single thank you.  I think I’m finally starting to understand what my mom’s job is like.  And I must admit it’s very taxing and doesn’t pay nearly enough. 

This is why having kids of my own freaks me out.  I love to babysit, you can have fun with the kids, but you get to leave whenever the parents get home.  I would also love to be an aunt or a godparent, they offer the same advantages.  But being a mom is a big commitment, that you can’t go back on.  So many girls have it in them to be a mom, and I think I have it too, but after this weekend I’d rather wait close to ten years before testing that theory.

Oh and did I mention the meal was delicious and nutritious…what mom wouldn’t love that?  Baked Spicy Macaroni with a side salad.

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: , , , , .

5 Reasons Why The South Is Better Than The North A Few Things I’ve Learned On The RIPTA

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


