Getting Out and Getting Ahead

February 22, 2008 at 2:25 pm 4 comments

 

I’ve been doing some research on the comfort zone and found many lists of things you can to do to get out of it.  On these lists were some things I’ve already tried:

  • Try some new food
  • Smile at strangers
  • Say hello to people in the grocery store
  • Use public transportation
  • Wear an outrageous outfit
  • Start a blog
  • I’ve tried sushi and caviar recently.  I’d eat sushi again, it was pretty good, but caviar was so slimy and salty that I think I can live without it.  I smile at strangers all the time, whether I’m in the grocery store or on the RIPTA, especially little kids because they’re so cute.  I’ve even talked to some people on the bus (One lady was on her way to her daughters house and another girl was going to school downtown, both were lost and needed directions).  Just the other day I wore what I considered to be an outrageous outfit: sweatpants.  When my roommate saw me she asked if I was going to the gym because she knows that I normally dress up for class.  I was kind of insulted, but I just rolled with it and said I felt like being a scrub.  And of course, this blog is here to document it all.

    Over the next few days I’ll be out of town, so I apologize in advance, but I have a few things to work on in the mean time.  On these lists were also things I want to try:

    • Compliment three strangers each day for a week
    • Take responsibility for something you didn’t do
    • Act more feminine (this is my own add on)

    It might seem that complimenting people is easy, but with strangers that’s a whole new game.  It’s only thing to say something nice to a friend, but it’s completely different to go up to someone random and not seem like a freak. 

    For me, taking responsibility for something I didn’t do, will be to take the fall for someone else or to just admit to something that I don’t think is a big admission.  For example, let’s say you’re arguing with a friend because you just ate the rest of her peanut butter.  Instead of wasting time arguing about it (which in female ways is very passive aggressive little movements and mutterings under your breath), I’ll woman up and just admit it…so many things can be avoided this way. 

    And lastly, being more feminine is something I always strive for, but I’ve been slacking lately.  I’ve been reading some articles about the feminine qualities in a woman’s voice; this is very important.  Sometimes it’s not what you say, but how you say it that’s more important.  Also you can’t forget the accessories.  I often don’t bother to change my earrings before going out, or I forget to spray some perfume on.  It’s not because I don’t have earrings or perfume, it’s just not on my mind.  Wearing clothes to show off your figure, and picking the right materials is also crucial.  So when I have a choice to wear jeans or a dress, I’m picking the dress.  Or if it’s a decision of a lacy top or tshirt, it’s gonna be the lacy top.  I already embrace the Betty Crocker way of life, I love to cook and share that.  And have things like purple pens and pink post-its.  So it’s not like it’s not in me, sometimes it just gets hidden in the shuffle.  I’ll be back to report in a few days, till then your suggestions are wanted.

    Entry filed under: Seinfeld Experiment. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

    Break The Ice 5 Reasons Why The South Is Better Than The North

    4 Comments Add your own

    • 1. dchero  |  February 25, 2008 at 8:28 am

      Girl-arguing is so unproductive, but it is funny to watch. Are there really going to be 3 strangers a day who deserve to be complimented? Looks like you’re going to have to throw your compliment standards out the window.

      Reply
    • 2. Ava V  |  February 27, 2008 at 2:51 pm

      I must say the standard it quite lower than normal. Usually if I were to compliment someone it would have to be an extraordinary case.

      Reply
    • 3. Virgle Kent  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:54 am

      I love sushi to death, before meeting up with my boys for a night of trolling for turtles I will often get sushi on the solo tip bymyself cause it’s that good.

      Reply
    • 4. Virgle Kent  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:54 am

      Also I often like taking first dates to sushi and if a girl doesn’t like sushi I might have to pass on that ass

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

    Categories


