Expectations

February 13, 2008 at 7:44 am 2 comments

My thoughts lately have been: if you keep your expectations low you’ll never be disappointed.  Because, let me be honest, I usually get carried away and start day dreaming of how great things will be.  But recently I changed my mindset and expectations, and hoped this wouldn’t happen. 

On Friday we had a senior semi event and for most school events I hype myself up just to realize how it never is what I picture in my head.  So this time I had extremely low expectations, but my theory didn’t pan out.  There were lines 20 people deep for alcohol, coat check, getting on the bus, getting into the event, etc.  Overall it just wasn’t anywhere close to what it should have been.

Also in personal relationships, you also have expectations for friends, family, and bfs/gfs.  I always thought my mom knew me pretty well until she gave me chocolate for valentines day (gummy worms/bears is where it’s at).  I mean you would think after 21 years she’d get that right.  Basically you expect to get back what you put in, and when you don’t, you get frustrated.  And right now that’s where I stand.  I feel like I’m doing all I can and it’s still not enough for some.  So I have no choice but to throw my hands up in the air and walk away.  In my eyes, nothing is easier to give than your time, and if you can’t do that, there’s no point to keep things going.  So be there for you friends, family, bfs/bfs, otherwise what you think is going on will be very different from reality.

Entry filed under: Dating, Family, Friends. Tags: , , , , , , .

High Anxiety Levels Yummy Breads

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dchero  |  February 14, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Hey Ava, I think I speak for all of your readers when I say: we want more Seinfeld Experiment.

    Reply
  • 2. Ava V  |  February 14, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Well Hero, I did make a few big steps in the Seinfeld Experiment, but chose not to write about them for personal reasons. But I do need more risks and if you have any suggestions to combat this do tell.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


