Doing Too Much

February 5, 2008 at 8:27 am 4 comments

 

The way I feel about myself cuz I got self-esteem, sometimes I wonder if I’m just chasing a fantasy

I’m not sure if I’ve told you before, but I love to people watch.  And a favorite place of mine for this is our school’s cafeteria, especially on Saturday or Sunday mornings.  Any time after a night out is a great time to people watch.

I was eating lunch there the other day when I overheard a guy talking to his mom, he was complaining about taking girls out on dates.  He went on about how to take girls to a nice place, which according to him girls expect, it costs way too much to do it too often.  Apparently his gf and him had a fight about this, which is why he was telling his mom.  The gf didn’t understand why spending money on her was such a bad thing.  He tried to reason with the girl by saying, “if you stay with me, you’ll thank me when we’re sixty.”

I think most guys and girls would agree that going out doesn’t need to be extravagant, but every once in a while is nice.  It was just interesting to see this guy get so irritated over the subject.  Am I seeing this right, or do girls expect this time of treatment all the time?  I need your opinion blog readers.

Entry filed under: Dating. Tags: , , , , , , .

Parent’s Weekend Bet – The Result Would You Rather…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dchero  |  February 5, 2008 at 10:31 am

    expensive dinners are for guys with nothing else to bring to the (dinner) table.

    Reply
  • 2. glamour girl fan  |  February 8, 2008 at 1:13 am

    I agree with you, its nice to go out once in a while to break the routine…. as long as its not chille’s

    Reply
  • 3. Ava V  |  February 8, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Haha, well glamour girl fan, i agree. If a guy says “hey I want to take you out to dinner,” his spot shouldn’t be chile’s…because that’s not really going out to dinner. That’s more of a casual setting that you to with your grandmother on sundays.

    Reply
  • 4. CJ  |  February 25, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I can understand why the guy might get annoyed by this expectation. It’s great to go out and all, but when you’re in college and not making any money it can be tough. Also, guys have to be careful about the precendent they set when they take a girl out for a really nice dinner. Some girls were raised with certain expectations and once you commit to this expectation it can be tough to make it only a “every so often” occasion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


