Dead Ends

January 16, 2008 at 6:01 am 2 comments

 

Today was my last first day of school.  When I finished high school I was so happy to get out of there and move on.  But now in college, I can’t say I’m happy to leave or want to stay…I just know it’s time to move on.  After being in the same place for four years, nothing really suprises me.  I know what to expect on campus and have an extreme comfort zone.  I guess you could say I’m famous for my comfort zone.  I love living in my own little world where nothing bothers me, which is why I rarely leave it.  Yet at the same time I think it’s finally time to grow up. 

Although I’m at school I’m still just a short car ride away from my parents.  That’s not to say I want to pack up my things and move to the Middle East, because let’s face it my arabic isn’t good enough.  All I know is how to say is things like bathroom, different foods, and swears….don’t think that would get me too far.  But I would not want to move to an area that I didn’t know anyone.  I would love to move with a friend or a cousin, because I need some stability if everything else is changing.  Even with all of this about to change, that part gives me very little stress ( just the other day I took my blood pressure, and it was so low, everyone around me was wondering why I was still breathing).  The part that stress me out the most is finding a job. 

I feel like I’m not qualified to do much of anything. All of the jobs I’ve read about require at least a year of experience, and just out of college, I don’t have that.  I’m not even sure what industry I want to go into.  I’ve thought about fashion, magazines, retailers, and hospitality, but they all lead to dead ends.  Any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Job Market.

Phase One First Day At The Grille

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jack Goes Forth  |  January 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Theres plenty of entry level jobs out there. Most start at about 30K which obviously sucks, but they are there.

    Hotel Management seems like a cool field. Ditto to starting at the ground level of some sort of PR firm.

    One recommendation though…well actually two…

    One: Stay out of sales if you like staying in a comfort zone. Getting rejected isn’t a whole lot of fun. The money can be good…..but trust me…theres much better jobs out there.

    Two: Look into stripping. Great money, you stay in shape, and if your lucky…you could meet a sugar daddy and all your money problems would be solved. Also: easy access to drugs and booze.

    …as always…i hope ive helped

    Reply
  • 2. Ava V  |  January 17, 2008 at 1:27 am

    now there’s a job with all the perks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


