New Year’s Resolution

January 1, 2008 at 6:42 pm Leave a comment

 

Why do so many people make new year’s resolutions?  It seems to me, if you really want to make a big life change, that you will actually stick you, there’s no need to wait for the start of a new year.  For example, if your resolution is to get in shape, why not start when you think of it?  If you’re truly committed to the new lifestyle you won’t make excuses for yourself.  You won’t say “the weather’s bad, so I’m not gonna go to the gym today” or “McDonald’s is cheaper than making healthy food at home.” 

This is true across the board; I know it happens to me when I’m shopping.  If I don’t like a shirt, I know I can’t convince myself to wear it, even if I buy it now.  If I’m not committed to it, I don’t waste my time.  I like to make decisions and really try them.  I don’t “try” them, like it seems most people do.  Maybe I’m wrong, and people really do try, but it never seems to last more than a few months.  At the start of a new year I always see an influx of new gym goers, but after spring break, I don’t see them anymore.  Are they just trying to accomplish a short term goal, or are they unsatisfied with their results up to that point?  If I knew the answer to this, I could help so many people, and probably sell thousands of self-help books.  If only it was that easy…

Entry filed under: Random Mumblings.

It’s all about the entertainment! Time To Fly South?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


