On my honor, I will try…

December 19, 2007 at 4:47 am 2 comments

original-1910.jpg

Today I accomplished something I thought only boy scouts were good at…I built a fire!  I guess when you’re up against a wall (your house is freezing) you figure it out.  My mom insists on keeping our thermostat at 68, which is 5 degree cooler than I like it.  I started with some paper to get it going, and added kindling on top, and then as it got bigger and stronger I threw on some logs.  I was so proud of myself, because I tried to start one the other day, but it never really got going.  I was having trouble trying to figure out how to use the flue correctly, but yesterday my dad taught me.  I love sitting next to a fire in the middle of winter; it’s so comforting.  And when you’re outside in that disgustingly cold weather, it’s the only place I want to be.

I also got to plan the meals for the rest of week.  My mom was thrilled for me to relieve her of this burden, and as a result I spent my morning in the grocery store!  I love it there.  Tonight I made a walnut crusted chicken, with snap peas, and a creamy polenta.  It’s so nice to have a starch other than potatoes, rice, or pasta for once.  Tomorrow is chili, thursday is turkey burgers (my sister’s doing those), and then friday is a roman style chicken with peppers, onions, and capers…mmm.  It’s like a dream come true.  When I’m alone by myself at school I can’t eat enough to have a different meal every night, so I’m constantly eating leftovers and don’t get a chance to make the dishes I really want to.  It’s so nice to have a change of pace.

Entry filed under: Food, Random Mumblings.

“Free” Time Are You Stubborn?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. meg  |  December 19, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    so when can i come over for dinner?

    Reply
  • 2. My Prerogative Admin  |  December 19, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    anytime, just give me call before so i can put an extra plate on the table.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


