Christmas Eve Gathering

December 17, 2007 at 12:01 am 3 comments

pa1b13_loaded_oatmeal_cookies_e.jpg

Every year for Christmas Eve my mom hosts a dinner party for our extended family.  But now that I’ve become very interested in cooking, I have taken a role in planning the menu.  Right now my mind is everywhere, so many ideas are going through my head.  I’ve tried to sort this mess out by writing it down on paper, but now that made me realize how many decisions I have to make.  Since we always make beef tenderloin, I only know three other things that I’m definitely making: smoked sausage, butternut squash and wild rice soup, red wine risotto with peas, and coconut macaroons.  I still have to decide on appetizers, a salad, another side, and desserts.  And of course, the list of desserts is never ending. 

On the list I have an apple and pear crisp, something fruity and light is always a nice option.  Chocolate white chocolate chip cookies, since that’s what I made for my business, and have made as close to perfection as possible.  Loaded oatmeal cookies, loaded due to the creamy icing that drizzles on top.  Chocolate truffles, very decadent and appropriate for the occasion.  Peanut butter and jelly bars, I’ve had this recipe for a while, but still haven’t had the chance to make them.  Raspberry tiramisu, after my trip to Italy last year I have loved to recreate what I ate over there.  Chocolate molten lava cake, everyone loves chocolate.  Chocolate hazlenut cookies, I always love to have a few cakes or pies but also a few cookies on the side for something small.  White chocolate macadamia nut pie, white chocolate is my favorite kind of chocolate, even though technically it’s not chocolate.  And lastly, chocolate praline tart with a caramel chocolate sauce, I’ve never made a tart before, so I thought it could be an adventure.

Please help me decide!

Entry filed under: Food.

Want a piece of her? “Free” Time

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. composeanalysis  |  December 17, 2007 at 5:10 am

    One suggestion I would have is to keep things simple and traditional to your family. It is nice to have change but having some things the same will help highlight new introductions to the menu.
    Always enjoy every minute of it too! Goodluck 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. My Prerogative Admin  |  December 17, 2007 at 5:23 am

    There are some things we’ve made in the past that are on my list. That would be a good way to ensure some ease, but otherwise I love expermenting and trying new dishes. So tha’ts probably what will happen. We also make a lot of dishes ahead of time, which is a great simple tip to keep things on the easy side. Some dishes, such as soup, are even better when you let me sit for a day, all the flavors just melt into each other.

    Reply
  • 3. Estrada Jr  |  December 17, 2007 at 6:04 am

    Peanut Butter and Jelly bars are an absolute must. I think the children, and the adults behaving like children, would enjoy those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SAY WHAT YOU WANT ABOUT ME BUT CAN'T YOU SEE WHAT I SEE

Categories


